Applying to a job from Craigslist

Great tips to all who are applying for a job from Craigslist:
http://www.craigslist.org/about/best/sfo/101949754.html

Looking for Job on Craigslist ?

Looking for Job on Craigslist ?


Excerpt:

5. Win me over by being open and honest.

I respect failure, and I look for potential. Yet, it seems to be common practice to BS on resume’s nowadays. It’s ok to be proud of your accomplishments, but a little modesty makes you look human. I’d much rather meet with someone who admits they’ve failed, than someone who pretends they’ve always been successful.

“I successfully led a ten person team to generate sales of $200,000″

Yeah, ok… but I’d respect that person even more if they had the balls to write this :

In my last job, I had ten people working for me. It was stressful, and I didn’t have a clue about how to manage at the time. Two of my team resigned in the first month, and I found it difficult to motivate the other eight who were all older than me. We still met our quota, but I was let go. To be fair, I was in over my head at the time. I have since been to two leadership training seminars, and I can see now where I went wrong.

Which one would you rather talk to?

Read the full article here:
http://www.craigslist.org/about/best/sfo/101949754.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

